Anthropologie Knock Off: Wooden Chalkboard Clips

18 Aug

28371573_001_b

This is going to be a quick little knock off that cost almost nothing. The inspiration from Anthropologie are these cute little wooden chalkboard clips. Now, I’m not really sure what they’re supposed to be used for. I’m guessing they’re meant to be used as place cards for dinner, or maybe labeling dishes at a party, or even just around the house. And for an item that I’m not really sure what its purpose is, I’m definitely not paying $10 for four of them.

IMG_2009

Now, these clips are pretty simple. They’re clothespins with little chalkboards glued on. That’s it. So, I picked up some clothespins at the Dollar Tree, some tiny wood rectangles at Michael’s, and I’m using some leftover chalkboard paint that I made for a previous project.

IMG_2012

The rectangles are about twice as big as they needed to be, so I cut them in half using my trusty exacto knife and my improvised cutting mat (love that gigantic Ikea catalog).

IMG_2013

Much better!

IMG_2014

You’ll notice that the originals have a little wood border around the chalkboard, so I decided to tape of a teensy little bit of each wooden piece.

IMG_2015

Next came two quick coats of the chalkboard paint.

IMG_2016

Now, the paint bled a bit under the tape, so if I did this again, I might try outlining the label with a marker first to make the lines a little crisper.

IMG_2018

A little bit of hot glue on the clothespin, and press each chalkboard on top.

IMG_2019

All done! These maybe took five minutes to do.

IMG_2022

I can imagine these looking pretty nice for a dinner party or even in hanging photos on a memo board. And for less than $.25 a piece, they’re definitely worth making, rather than buying.

Anthropologie Wooden Chalkboard Clips

Supplies

– clothespins ($1 for three dozen)

-wooden rectangles ($.29 for one – which is cut in half)

-chalkboard paint (on hand, tutorial here)

-hot glue gun (on hand)

1

Anthropologie cost: $10 for four

Total cost for me? Less than $1 for four

One Response to “Anthropologie Knock Off: Wooden Chalkboard Clips”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cheap and Easy Chalkboard Clips - September 8, 2013

    […] know we all love a quick and simple knock-off that costs practically nothing, and this project from The Knock-Off Crafter is just that! The crafty lady behind this site knew she could easily make her own chalkboard clips, […]

Leave a Reply

