Anthropologie Knock Off: Chalkboard Spice Jars

4 Aug

23864820_042_a

I’ve had these jars pinned in my “I Could Make This” board on Pinterest for awhile now. I have a little thing for containers.  I’m constantly organizing and reorganizing, sometimes just as an excuse to use cute new containers. Now, the little jars my spices come in work fine for me, but I was pretty sure I could find some use for these somewhere. But at ten dollars a piece, that wasn’t going to happen.

IMG_1845

I found these cute little glass jars at the Dollar Tree a week or so ago and knew they’d be perfect.

IMG_1871

I gathered up the supplies I needed for the the jar, the lid, and of course – the little chalkboard label.

IMG_1874

I’m going to spray paint the jar white, so I used tape and a plastic bag to block off the opening of the jar from getting paint in it.

IMG_1875

I decided to spray paint the lids as well as a base for the colored paint later.

IMG_1876

I gave these all two coats of white spray paint and let them dry.

IMG_1887

For the lids, I mixed up three shades – a coral, a light teal blue, and a light yellow.

IMG_1889

Two quick coats later, the lids were perfect.

IMG_1880

For the chalkboard paint, I followed the instructions on this blog. I painted a bookshelf with this a few months ago, so I had the ingredients on hand. The recipe is one cup paint and one tablespoon of unsanded grout. I scaled this WAY down to 1/6th a cup of paint and 1/2 teaspoon. These get mixed together really well and they form a gritty textured paint. If you don’t want to make this, you can always buy chalkboard paint at any craft store or even chalkboard stickers. Neither is very expensive, but you will be limited as to the colors you can choose.

IMG_1927

Now, my hand-eye coordination is not so great and my ability to paint straight lines is even worse, so I decided to outline the labels with black sharpie to make the edge a little crisper.

IMG_1928

Apply two thin, even coats of the chalkboard paint and let it dry.

IMG_1929

Once dry, just write on it like you would a chalkboard.

IMG_1933

How cute are these? And they came together really quickly.

IMG_1936

Plus, they look adorable on the window ledge above my kitchen sink. You could really replicate these with any jar you have around your house. Baby food jars, pickle or condiment jars, empty mason jars, really anything would work. Plus, if your painting ability is better than mine, you could even change the shape of the label to more closely resemble the original.

Anthropologie Chalkboard Spice Jars

Supplies

– Glass jars with lids ($1 each, or free with whatever you have on hand)

– White spray paint (on hand, or under $2 at Walmart)

– Colored acrylic paints (on hand, or under $1 each)

– Unsanded grout (on hand, or under $4 at home improvement stores)

 

Anthropologie cost: $30 for three

Total cost for me? $3 for three

2

8 Responses to “Anthropologie Knock Off: Chalkboard Spice Jars”

  1. Angelique Stevens August 4, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    I have a similar project pinned and have yet to get around to doing it. I even have the little jars and the paint supplies–minus the chalkboard paint. They look lovely! I think I might be running to Home depot for the chalk board paint today! I am inspired to get them done now. Thanks for the tutorial!

    • knockoffcrafter August 4, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

      Good luck!

  2. Redesigned By M August 4, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    So cute! ~M.

    http://redesignedbym.wordpress.com/

  3. Lori August 6, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    I found a roll of chalkboard “contact paper” for lack of a better term. I bet I could make these and run that paper through my Cricut cutter to create a cool shape and eliminate my also not very straight painted lines….hmmm…

    • knockoffcrafter August 6, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

      Completely jealous over here! I can’t imagine the things I would find to do with chalkboard contact paper. It would be like a teenage girl with a bedazzler 20 years ago.

      The cricut really gives you so many options, too. Good luck!

  4. amy catherine August 6, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

    So great! I’m always looking for cheap ways to repurpose things… and Anthro is the best inspiration. I also like Lori’s idea of the cricut… I want!

  5. Sharice Chayka October 31, 2015 at 7:16 am #

    Big business never pays a nickel in taxes, according to Ralph Nader, who represents a big consumer organization that never pays a nickel in taxes. Dave Barry

  6. Jessie B May 17, 2016 at 11:50 am #

    How well does does the chalk clean off (leaving chalk residue or looks like you just freshly painted it)? What do you use to clean it?

Leave a Reply

