Anthropologie Knock Off: Botticino Marble Coasters

30 Jul

28840791_095_b - Copy

Apparently, the good people at Anthropologie do not find stolen bar coasters appropriate for protecting their precious wooden tables from water damage. Well fine, Anthropologie, I’ll look at your marble coasters painted with spines of vintage books. Okay, I’ll even like them a little. Alright, I want them.  But there is NO WAY you’re getting forty dollars from me for four coasters. Marble or not, that’s insane. They are super cute though….

Luckily, I’m a master coaster maker. After finding a quick and easy tutorial last year, I made a TON of these for Christmas presents. I used photos, song lyrics, scrapbook paper, and sports logos to personalize a set for each person. They went over really well, and they were SO easy to make. I figured this would be a perfect way to recreate the original coasters.

I looked through Google images a bit for something that would catch my eye, and finally found this image of Penguin book spines:

penguin-classics-clothbound-hardback-spinesHow fantastic are those? I want those actual books. I thought they needed to look a little more aged, so I tweaked them a bit with a photo editor, scaled them to 4″ x 4″ and printed them in color. (Here they are for download, if you’d like.)

1

Now, on to the actual coasters. Marble isn’t going to happen, it’s way too expensive and really – who needs a marble coaster? Instead, I’m choosing my go-to super cheap $.16 white tiles. You’ll also need Mod Podge, a clear sealer, hot glue, and either cork coasters (which are about a dollar for four at craft stores), circular felt pads, or squares of felt to line the bottoms of the tiles.

IMG_1881

Next, cut the print outs to size.

IMG_1882

Apply a thin even layer of Mod Podge to each tile.

IMG_1883

Position the picture on top and smooth it out with a straight edge (or in my case, an old gift card). You really need to smooth it out in all directions, squeezing out any blobs of Mod Podge or air bubbles. Let that dry for about fifteen minutes, then apply a coat of Mod Podge on top of the picture. Again, thin and even.

IMG_1884

Let this layer dry, then repeat two more times, letting it dry completely (about thirty minutes) between each coat.

IMG_1885

Next, we need to make these puppies water resistant. This is where the sealer comes in. I’ve always used the cheapest clear spray sealer I can find at Home Depot. This one is about $3.50 and works great. Apply a quick coat, let it dry and repeat.

Once dry, we need to make it so the tiles don’t scratch and destroy any surface they sit on. Which means they need backing.

IMG_1890

A quick bit of hot glue and these little cork coasters are perfect.

IMG_1891

And the final product…ta da!

IMG_1896

So cute, right?

IMG_1895

And perfect for your favorite beverage.

IMG_1893 - Copy

I’m really happy with how these turned out. Sure they might not be marble, but how awesome do those books look? They’re so much more affordable, but they still have the same look and spirit as the Anthropologie version.

Anthropologie Botticino Marble Coasters

Supplies

– Four white tiles ($.16 each)

– Cork coasters, felt circles, or felt squares ($1 for four)

– Clear spray sealer ($3.50 at Home Depot)

– Mod Podge, hot glue (on hand)

– printed pictures to be used

 

Anthropologie cost: $40 for four

Total cost for me? Under $5

 

 

1

If you like this project, follow me on twitter or sign up to get email notifications to keep up with new posts and projects.  And leave a comment  – let me know what you think!

3 Responses to “Anthropologie Knock Off: Botticino Marble Coasters”

  1. Angelique Stevens August 4, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    These are adorable! They would be perfect in my office. Pinned for a rainy day project. Thanks!

  2. christinapertz1 August 4, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Cute! Love how the Anthro version has the scrappy edges, I might have tried to do a Mod Podge photo transfer version to a porous surface. Ahhh another To DIY item!

    • knockoffcrafter August 4, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      I liked the torn edge look, too. I tried to age it a bit in photo editing, but I couldn’t quite get it looking right. Plus, I liked the look of the book spines a little too much.

      I’d love to see how they look done on something porous, good luck!

Leave a Reply

