Coach Knock Off: Single Tassel Legacy Key Ring

30 Jun

2

This adorable little tassel key ring is right up my alley – cute, fairly useless, and pretty over priced. I saw this Coach tassel key ring at Macy’s for $38 and loved the look of it. I’m trying to streamline my keys and I think this would be a pretty perfect anchor (or more likely, something to spot when I’m searching the depths of my purse). But there is NO way I’m paying almost forty dollars for a key chain. Especially since it’s just a scrap of leather and two cheap pieces of metal. I know that the “important” part of this, I wont be able to replicate – the Coach tag. But I could really care less about brands, I like the look of this. And I knew I could make it for almost nothing.

IMG_1742

To make this,  I needed four things: a piece of leather, a key ring, a clippy thing (a technical term, of course), and some glue. I had the glue and a key ring around the house, and I picked up a “Swivel Clip” (okay, so it actually does have a name) for $.98 in the jewelry section at WalMart. You could also pick up a more heavy duty clip in the hardware section, but this was really all I needed. As for the leather – I found an old purse in the back of my closet that I had no intention of ever using again. It was red. It was leather-ish. It was free. So, it’ll do.

IMG_1743

My first step was to cut one side of the purse out to get my strip of leather. I figured that I would need a strip of leather about a foot long and three or four inches tall. Conveniently, this tote had a piece that was perfect for that.

IMG_1744

It had some weird fabric lining glued to the edges, so that had to go.

IMG_1746

The back looked better with the camel color, and the glue around the edges could be cut around.

IMG_1747

I measured a strip of “leather” twelve inches long and three inches tall. Since the back of this material won’t be very visible I traced everything there first.

IMG_1748

I traced a line about half an inch down to mark where I would stop cutting my fringe. From there, I marked every centimeter to show where to make each cut.

IMG_1752

From this side, it’s looking like some awful Spaghetti Western costuming.

IMG_1751To attach the tassel to the key ring, I took a small strip of the leather, looped it over the ring and glued it together. Little binder clips worked to keep it together while the glue dried.

IMG_1753

To assemble the tassel, I applied a line of glue along the top, about the cut line. The tab attached to the key ring is placed along that line. From there, you (tightly) roll the tassel, making sure to keep the top lined up as you roll.

IMG_1754

Once rolled up, it looks like this.

IMG_1755

The glue is still wet here, so another binder clip will help it stay together while the glue dries.

IMG_1757

Once everything is dry, with the clips removed this looks REALLY close to the Coach version. This project cost under a dollar for me as most everything I needed to make it was around the house. If you don’t have an old purse you want to sacrifice, you could easily find one for under five dollars at a local thrift store. Or, if you want leather – you could look for leather scraps at your local fabric store, or even on Etsy or Ebay, either of which are fairly inexpensive.

Coach Single Legacy Tassel Key Ring:

Supplies

– Leather scrap (re-using a purse, so free for me)

– Swivel clip ($1)

– Key ring (on hand)

– Super Glue (on hand)

Coach cost: $38

Total cost for me? $1

1

 

6 Responses to “Coach Knock Off: Single Tassel Legacy Key Ring”

  1. Elliot Sosa July 1, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    Such a good idea! I might try this for my car keys!
    http://homewreker.com/

    • knockoffcrafter July 7, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

      Good luck!

  2. Alyssa B July 2, 2013 at 12:34 am #

    I’m loving tassels right now. I never thought of cutting apart an old purse for the leather. To the thrift shop!

    • knockoffcrafter July 7, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      For me, it was the cheapest option – and that almost always wins. Good luck trying it out!

  3. Bouqui July 3, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    This is so clever. Thanks for the idea. I never would have thought of cutting into a purse. I was just about to donate several of mine. Did you need special scissors or were your sewing scissors fine? Thanks!

    http://eclectic-domestic.com

    • knockoffcrafter July 11, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

      The purse I used was REALLY cheap thin “leather” so I was able to use some sharp fabric scissors. If its a thicker leather you might need something special, but I would guess just a sharp pair of scissors should do.

Leave a Reply

